Getting busy

Met and had dinner with some new pilgrims last night. All women. That’s ok. Two germans and one frog. Another from I don’t know where, but unfriendly, so who cares. One of the germans had a black eye. Must have been lucky, as she fell and hit her head on the ground. When I suggested her friend did that, she tried to punch me and we laughed. Funny thing was german lady said, shit happens. I thought that was very funny. Had lentil soup, huge chicken leg, salad and french fries, vino and flam for dessert. Also later after dinner, my Spanish friends from inje’s dinner party arrived at the albergue. Now at 9.30 at night and everyone is going to sleep 😴 This morning I was last to leave the albergue. Including myself, there were eight people. I left under a foggy sky thinking that I would descend from the mountains. I was wrong again. The climb was straight back up to, you guessed it, more turbines. I hate them. They are not supposed to be where scenery and nature are the only beautiful things we still have. The human race is really dumb, thinking that these monstrosities are going to save the world. In their own way, they’re doing more damage than any individual does by spraying graffiti on buildings. You can clean the paint off. You can’t hide the turbines or stop the ugly noise they make. I walked fifteen kilometres before I saw another pilgrim. By now, the fog has lifted, and the sun is shining big time. It was black eye and her friend. Her friend laughed when I yelled out, hello black eye. I walked with them for a while and then took off. After twenty kilometres,the scene changed as primitivo now joins up with camino Frances, and many more pilgrims to contend with. It takes a bit of getting used to. A lot of the day was on country roads, but the bitumen got hot and made my feet very sore. Twice I had to stop and rest and change my socks. At the first stop, I had a sickly feeling, as I thought I had lost my wallet. Thankfully,I found it in my back pack. After twenty five ks, I saw an albergue and decided to stop here. They offered a washing service for eight euro, I thought great idea, as I have been hand washing an item or two each day. Now I get everything washed properly. As I was relaxing watching the pilgrims pass, black eye and friend passed. I said hi, but they decided to walk to the next village. I’m sure I will catch them tomorrow. Must be time for an ale. I love this place. A half litre stein of icy cold estrella two euro fifty, that’s less than four dollars. A very new modern albergue that also has a small swimming pool. I could live here. Can’t wait for dinner.

Leave a comment