Relaxing

Today I stayed in bed till almost 9 am.I then lazily had a shower and lumbered to a cafe for bacon and eggs for breakfast. After breakfast I was casually walking around like other pilgrims and ran into black eye and friend. We hugged and took photos. Maybe catch up for a drink later today. Her eye 👁 looks much better. I said I will have to find a new nick name. I then proceeded to the cathederal early to get a front row seat, for the midday pilgrims mass. With the huge organ and usually many priests and nuns, it is a showpiece service. Today, only two priests and one nun completed the service. However there was a special treat at the end. They loaded the Botafumeiro. What is that?you ask. You need to google. It is the most incredible experience you can have going to a church service. It is a large thurible that hangs on a rope driven through pulleys, and it takes eight men to get it swinging. It then swings from one end of the roof top to the other. It weighs 53 kgs and measures 1.5 metres. It hangs from a height of 20 metres and can pick up great speed. Apparently,it is only performs when someone pays a lot of money. The experience is impossible to describe. This afternoon I am lazing about in the garden of the albergue chatting with other pilgrims. Some look battered, especially the ones with multiple blisters on their feet. I personally feel great. Apart from very little pain now in my left shin and the side of my ankle, and very little pain in my left knee, I’m almost ready for some more punishment lol. Well!!maybe I rest a bit more.

2 thoughts on “Relaxing

Leave a comment