I’m going home

I found a few of my pilgrim friends and we decided to have dinner and drinks on my last night in santiago de compostella. I had to get up 4.30 am to catch a bus to Madrid. So I’m thinking 9.30 pm in bed, remember, we are all knackered pilgrims. We were having a ball, pumpkin 🎃 time of 9.30 came and went. 10.30, then 11.30 and 12.30, and finally by 1 am, my head hit the pillow. By 5 am I was dressed and pack on my back, walking in through the square, past the cathederal with only one other pilgrim in my vision. Probably a little hung over, it was a special moment being able to reflect on the last few weeks. I walked through the small cobbled lanes in pitch darkness, until I finally walked out of the old town and into the the new one. By 5.45 am, I was on my rocket to Madrid. I slept a bit. At 2.30 pm, I arrived in Madrid and walked two kilometres to my hostal and relaxed after a shower and spoilt my self to a hair cut and beard trim. Finished the day sipping on beer in a sunny outside bar watching the world go by. Tomorrow my last day in Madrid, I might join the other thousands of tourists,and then fly home to my sweetie and catch up with family. Gayle and I will travel up the coast and laze around before getting back to the serious side of life. Maybe not. Life’s a beach. Love you people for sharing my journey. Your support spurs 💙 me on.

4 thoughts on “I’m going home

Leave a comment