Spiritual day

Dinner was great. First course, salad with tomatoes, olives, cheese, onion, smothered with olive oil. Second course, large fish fillet, potatos and a beautiful sauce all over it. Third course, cheese cake, oh,and a couple of reds ,fifteen euro. Then after a good night’s sleep, walked straight into sunshine. No wind, no rain, no fog,no runny nose, no fogged up glasses and no frozen fingers. Wow, and no real hills to speak of. I walked mainly through woods and forest for the first five ks, and didn’t see a pilgrim. Then I entered a village and found a great cafe. The sandwich I ordered, the bread was warm,crunchy great taste. The cheese was delicious, and the ham was even more delicious. I called this my galician sanga. It was that good, I decided to save half for my picnic lunch later on. I finished my hot chocolate, and walked out to see about twenty pilgrims with day packs. By the time I got up the first hill leading out of the village, I had manouvered to get past all of them, even with dicky knee along for the ride and a full pack. By the time I reached the next woods, I was thankfully alone again, listening to the tune of all the birds. Amazing, a bit of warmth, and all of a sudden, lots of 🐦 birds. Actually, yesterday was the first time I had heard cuckoos. From memory, I heard them for days on end, not this trip though. I saw many pilgrims, but no familiar faces. At about one pm, I found a nice shady spot with picnic table and seat, and finished my galician sanga and a cup of tea. I took my socks and shoes off to cool them down, then walked for another couple of hours before my weary body found an albergue in a very small village. There is a restaurant only one hundred metres from here. I’m hoping they will have galician soup. I am going to pig out on galician style food this week, as I know how much I will miss it when I return home.

Leave a comment