I made it

The sun was so good yesterday afternoon I lay outside on a lazy boy listening to music and drinking estrella from 5 pm to almost 8 pm. The sun just hangs there in the evening this time of year. I then had galician soup withcrustybread, veal and french fries, vino 🍷 naturally, and chocolate flam. Amazing food. After a good night’s sleep, I started on my last 22 k journey. There are now many pilgrims. Lovely day, plenty of sunshine now. I stopped at cafe, had hot chocolate drink and a galician sanga, not as good as yesterday, but still very nice. Rang my sweetie to say I will ring you later if you are still awake as I wanted to share my coming into santiago de compostella. Spoke to American pilgrims I met last night. Their pilgrimage is a holiday as most time spent on bus or cafe. They can’t believe that people actually walk carrying their belongings. I arrived, and as always, very excited and proud to have achieved another incredible feat. I sat and watched pilgrims arrive for the next three hours, just to reflect how wonderful the camino really is. I thought I might stay in a beautiful hotel for two nights and live like a spoilt pilgrim.But even with pilgrim’s discount, seven hundred and fifty euro,like eleven hundred dollars, nice, but no thanks, I went down the road to an albergue for forty euro. The funny thing is, the unfriendly woman pilgrim I met days ago, happens to be in the bed next to me. Maybe I will eat lots of onions tonight. I will rest and celebrate for the next two days and catch up with pilgrims who are not far away.

2 thoughts on “I made it

  1. Congrats Hank !!! So very proud of you & your determination.
    Incredible strength of mind & body (esp carrying knee & ankle injuries), to get through your 5th Spanish Camino… and the most challenging by far yet.
    I was glad to receive your video chat last night Hank – you have accomplished another huge self-set achievement.
    Finally you can now rest and enjoy the next couple of days in Spain and reflect on your journey.
    Well done Hank:)
    When you are back home I will do my best to re-create the hot chocolates, baguettes etc. & will source some Spanish vino to help you reminisce your Camino achievement:)
    hugs, Gayle xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment