Stage 5 A Killer

It started off like a walk in the park. Weather fresh as we leave the alberge at 8 this morning. Walking, leaves crackling under my feet, listening as water cascades in the creek below, the sun glistening through the trees. And then,whamo!straight up for, who cares,and down for the same. You would think by now I should know how hilly this country is. However, as one walks high,almost to where the wind generators are, the country side is spectacular. It was also special, the time spent walking through the woods. The tank was well below reserve by the time we arrived at the hotel in Gurnika-Lumo. I think it was probably the warmest day yet. Today was twenty five kilometres. My feet are very sore as the rough terrain seems to dominate the ground we travel. Tomorrow thirty two kilometres, if I allow my body to take that much punishment. Heading back toward the coast, John Denver’s Annie song will be pumping through my head as I retrace twenty eight years ago, the day my lovely bride Gayle stepped down from the horse’s coach and walked down towards the river to become my wife. Like my camino journey, we have had some hiccups, but it’s still the greatest journey I have traversed. Now,I must go and wash my clothes as my sweet wife is not here to do that for me. Salude

3 thoughts on “Stage 5 A Killer

  1. You little smoothie Hank 😉 Happy 28th Wedding Anniversary!
    Has never been a dull moment being married to you – ur always on the go, constantly challenging yourself & living life to the fullest. You make life interesting, & thought provoking (like, where is that teapot to make a NICE cup of tea for my dearest Hank, ..hehe…our private joke;).
    Seriously…love u to the moon & back Hank, never stopping xx

    Like

Leave a comment